Best Friends for 65 Years

Paschalis Friendship & Devotion Full

Jeannie and I met when we were entering first grade in rural Kansas. Some decades in the subsequent 65 years had more contact than others but she has never left my heart. This piece shows a letter she wrote to me in 1961 after we had graduated from high school. I love the sentence that begins: “Oh, guess what!” I can still hear her saying that.

QuiltToon is 8″ X 10″.   It is whole cloth with old letter and envelope printed on fabric.  Flowers are machine appliqued.  The piece is machine quilted.  Completed Aug. 2013.

This was made to enter in the Quilting Arts Magazine “Reader Challenge:  Friendship and Devotion.”

About QuiltToonist

I'm a news junkie and have opinions about everything! I consider myself a folk artist because I have no formal art training and use the sewing skills I learned many moons ago to accomplish the fiber art I seem to have to express.
This entry was posted in Daily Musings, How Tos - Quilt Making and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Best Friends for 65 Years

  1. Nancy Shaw says:

    Judy it is wonderful. I remember Morse Hall days!

    Like

  2. Sharon says:

    A very special remembrance of a very special friend. A great tribute to your lasting friendship which is such a blessing.

    Like

  3. Jean Archer says:

    I love it Judy. YOu are so talented. More later. Love Jean

    Like

Leave a Reply

