A Touching Response

curtainsAnn saw the show of my fabric art two weeks ago and called to ask if I would make one of my pieces for her but without the words “Never a Bride” across the bottom.  The reason she wanted this version is because it spoke to her of her mother who died two years ago suffering from dementia.  She said it reminded her of a book, “Alzheimers From The Inside Out,” by Richard Taylor, who had early-onset Alzheimers.  Ann sent me the following passage from that book:   “Instead, right now, I feel as if I am sitting in my grandmother’s living room, looking at the world through her lace curtains.  From time to time, a gentle wind blows the curtains and changes the patterns through which I see the world.  There are large knots in the curtains and I cannot see through them.  There is a web of lace connecting the knots to each other, around which I can sometimes see.  However, this entire filter keeps shifting unpredictably in the wind.  Sometimes I am clear in my vision and my memory, sometimes I am disconnected but aware of memories, and other times I am completely unaware of what lies on the other side of the knot.  As the wind blows, it is increasingly frustrating to undersatnd all that is going on around me, because access to the pieces and remembering what they mean keeps flickering on and off, on and off.”  Of course, I felt privileged to make the piece for her and to know that it had touched her in this way.

About QuiltToonist

I'm a news junkie and have opinions about everything! I consider myself a folk artist because I have no formal art training and use the sewing skills I learned many moons ago to accomplish the fiber art I seem to have to express.
This entry was posted in Daily Musings, How Tos - Quilt Making and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Touching Response

  1. Sr. Mary says:

    How beautiful, Judy. Look where your skill and passion have led you.

    Sr. Mary

Leave a Reply

