Jeannie’s Holstein Calf

Following yesterday’s posting, my friend Jeannie sent a photo of herself and her holstein calf, Lily.  ( It think the boy in the photo is her brother.)  This was in 1954.  She was training the calf to be shown the next year at the Reno County Fair in central Kansas.  She got a red ribbon the same as I did.  Showing the calves were a 4-H project.  In 1954 we were 11, so that means we showed the calves when we were 12.

About QuiltToonist

I'm a news junkie and have opinions about everything! I consider myself a folk artist because I have no formal art training and use the sewing skills I learned many moons ago to accomplish the fiber art I seem to have to express.
This entry was posted in Daily Musings, How Tos - Quilt Making, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jeannie’s Holstein Calf

  1. mike says:

    judy, is this activity unique to you or are you part of a mad, global cabal of quiltoonists?
    mike

    Like

    • quilttoonist says:

      Mike.. I think I coined the word “quilttoonist”… It came about because if I say, “ I make quilts.”, folks think of traditional, Amish-type of quilts. So I came up with a way to describe somewhat, at least, what I do…however, many other people make fiber art quilts depicting scenes, ideas that they want to. Fewer people, at least that I have seen, make quilts that on paper would be “cartoons.” Thanks for asking. Judy

      Like

  2. Cindy (your daughter) says:

    One more thing I have learned about you! love it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

