The Red Door on an Abandoned Farm House

A few years ago, I took a photo of an old abandoned farm house and about a month ago made the first “Remnants of a Family Farm” featuring the window on the old house.  This week to I made a second QuiltToon of that subject – “Remnants of a Family Farm #2” featuring the red door.   As I wrote before, being born in farm country in Kansas,  I probably have a romanticized view of the small family farm.  But, small farms contribute mightily to our economy, healthy food supply and, in general, to American’s proud view of our current and historical collective selves.  This second on the subject QuiltToon is also made to honor all small farmers in existence today and throughout our history.

In 2004, the EPA stated that every day 3,000 acres of productive farmland are lost to development.    www.EPA.gov

Farm Aid asserts that, every week, 330 farmers leave their land. www.farmaid.org

“Remnants of a Family Farm #2″  is 15″ X 13”.  Machine pieced and top-stitched.  Hand and machine appliqued and embroidered.  Completed March 2011.

The Photo and Text © 2011

 

About QuiltToonist

I'm a news junkie and have opinions about everything! I consider myself a folk artist because I have no formal art training and use the sewing skills I learned many moons ago to accomplish the fiber art I seem to have to express.
This entry was posted in Daily Musings, How Tos - Quilt Making, Political Commentary and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Red Door on an Abandoned Farm House

  1. Heidi says:

    Hi Aunt Judy –

    Love your red door on the farm house! Is this actually a quilt? I, too, will always cherish the time I spent as a child in the summers in Kansas with “Gramps and Grandma.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

