Whose neighborhood is it? The gentrification quandary..

A true story of the gentrification quandary:  “What’re doin’,” he said as I knelt on the sidewalk planting marigolds and other flowers that would withstand the heat and lack of water around the tree.  I looked up to see a small, thin and very inebriated man bobbing and weaving toward me, a bottle in a brown paper bag in his hand.   I said, “I’m planting flowers.”  Anger sparked in his black and yellowed eyes, or maybe it was resentment.  He said, “Flowers, uhmpf …  ain’t you special.”  He sloshed  his way on by me, leaving me to ponder the relationship between those of us who  were encroaching on an area with real people living there, with our ideas of “saving  the neighborhood.”

This QuiltToon is 17″ X 22″.  Machine pieced.  Machine and hand embroidered and appliqued.  Some fusible webbing used.    Completed May 2011.

The Photo and Text © 2011

About QuiltToonist

I'm a news junkie and have opinions about everything! I consider myself a folk artist because I have no formal art training and use the sewing skills I learned many moons ago to accomplish the fiber art I seem to have to express.
This entry was posted in How Tos - Quilt Making, Political Commentary and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Whose neighborhood is it? The gentrification quandary..

  1. quilttoonist says:

    Thanks for the correction…I hate to make mistakes such as that…but I guess it proves I’m human. jp

    Like

  2. Fred Snerd says:

    Whose.

    Like

Leave a Reply

