My Mother’s Hands

Mama's HandsIn 1977, I took this photo of my Mother’s hands kneading dough for cinnamon rolls.  I was in Kansas visiting my Mom and Dad and took many photos to document their lives at that time.  When the theme of “Hands” came up as a “Reader Challenge” in June/July issue of Quilting Arts Magazine, I decide to use this picture.  By the way, my Mother’s cinnamon rolls were the best!

Photo printed on fabric.  Machine and hand thread painted.  Machine quilted. Embellished with beads.

12″ X 9″; completed June 2013.

 

About QuiltToonist

I'm a news junkie and have opinions about everything! I consider myself a folk artist because I have no formal art training and use the sewing skills I learned many moons ago to accomplish the fiber art I seem to have to express.
This entry was posted in Daily Musings, How Tos - Quilt Making, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Mother’s Hands

  1. What beautiful hands and a beautiful idea! Hands hold hearts and that is evident in your work. Your hands are beautiful as well.

    Like

  2. Fran says:

    Judy, what a great idea to preserve pictures of the past in your quiltting projects.
    I always wished I could make great cinnamon rolls. Has never happened. . .

    Like

  3. Heidi says:

    I remember those busy hands – my Grandma Tillie’s washing dishes, sewing, cooking and hanging clothes out to dry in the hot, dry Kansas summer breeze.

    Like

  4. Judy says:

    Your mother’s hands look better than my hands.

    Like

Leave a Reply

