Go Rest High on That Mountain

go-rest-high-on-that-mountain-dec-2016

This QuiltToon was inspired by photographs (see below) taken on a trip by Perrysburg, Ohio’s  St. Timothy’s Episcopal Church’s outreach to people who live in the Barnes Mountain area of Kentucky.  As told to me by Joan VanGunten, the cemetaries are focal points of the communities and are kept by families who have been burying ancestors there for more than 100 years.   The QuiltToon will be given to the outreach initiative to do with as they wish.

The piece is machine pieced and minimally quilted.  The embroidery and beading are hand done.  The sign is hand painted in acrylic. The QuiltToon is 18″ X 14″.  Completed Dec. 2016.

Photographs by Joan VanGunten

 

About QuiltToonist

I'm a news junkie and have opinions about everything! I consider myself a folk artist because I have no formal art training and use the sewing skills I learned many moons ago to accomplish the fiber art I seem to have to express.
This entry was posted in How Tos - Quilt Making, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Go Rest High on That Mountain

  1. Audrey says:

    I love the action of loved ones in the cemetery! Thanks for sharing your creativity Judy.

    Like

  2. Beth Rohrbacher says:

    I love it Judy. The beading adds a nice touch!

    Like

Leave a comment